KLA 2019 Annual Meeting Crowd.JPG

KLA Annual Meeting Highlights

July 13, 2019

The KLA held its annual meeting on July 23 at the Wilkins House.  There were 47 people at the meeting.

Highlights included:

  • Colin Holme, Executive Director of Lakes Environmental Association (LEA), presented the projects taking place on Keoka this summer.

  • The reading of Kim Struck's, Secretary, report of the minutes of the last meeting was waived as the minutes are posted on the website.

  • Chip Mason, Treasurer, reported that the Milfoil Fund is at $37,000.  Money from two CDs, maturing in June, will be moved into the Maine Community Fund.

  • Charlie Tarbell reported on the 19th Annual Maine Milfoil Seminar.  Courtesy Boat Inspections have helped keep Keoka clean.

  • The 2018 water quality report shows surface clarity but there is still concern for the lack of deep-water oxygenation.

  • Kim Struck has begun stream surveys and is looking for volunteers.

  • Jim Flynn discussed LakeSmart and Doss (Hammett) Hasson has join the team.

  • Ginger Eaton and Tom Hammett discussed programs to educate landowners and students about caring for the lake.

  • Jo Lynne Johnson is working with Joe Abbiati, Webmaster, to upload recent documents.  It was announced that a new website is being developed.

  • JoAnne Eaton announced that merchandise sales from the Fourth of July totaled $1,000.  New products and paddleboard raffle tickets are for sale.

  • Charlie Tarbell encouraged KLA members to also become members of the Lakes Environmental Association (LEA).

  • Andy Tabor put the loon nest out on May 4 and we now have two baby loons.  Andy is requesting funding for new buoys to protect the nest next year.

  • Charlie Mason is donating 17 acres by the dam to the Western Foothills Land Trust.  KLA will have ownership and responsibility for the dam.

  • KLA will be celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2021.  David and Jo Lynne Johnson are chairing the committee. 

  • The impact of Maine Legislation LD235 (increase in milfoil sticker price) and LD216 (mandatory septic inspection for all property transfers in the shore zone) were discussed.

  • The new bylaws were reviewed by Richard Orr and approved.

  • Arne Klepinger, David Johnson, Jo Lynne Johnson, Brenda Hambleton, and Al Struck were elected to the KLA Board with 2019-2022 terms.


Arne made great coffee and Lake Store donuts were served.

For the full minutes of the meeting click here.